Picture
The things you find on Pinterest! Letter B week so we went with it... Baked cotton Balls. I found them at playcreatexplore.com. These actually were very easy to make, and a lot of fun to play with. To make them we mixed 1 cup of flour with 1 cup of water. Then we divided the mix into four small bowls and added several drops of food coloring to each bowl. We mixed each little bowl. Next we sprayed our cookie sheet with Pam. Then we dipped each cotton ball into a bowl completely covering it in the mixture then placing it on the cookie sheet.  If you touch them together on the cookie sheet you can create shapes. You can see my "J" below. I put them in the oven on 300 degrees for about 45 mins. Took them out let them cool for a few minutes and took them out side to explore.
    First I gave Little Man his play hammer to bang on them but it wasn't heavy enough (they are pretty hard). They just shot all over the place. Next I got the big hammer out of the garage; but after about 2 minutes I was sure Little Man was going to smash his toes, or hit himself with the hammer so I put it up and we decided to step and stomp on them. We were rewarded with a glorious crunching sound! Little Man was so delighted.  We looked at them after they were smashed and investigated the inside which was still soft and fluffy. So we talked about hard and soft. Here is the whole event as caught on camera- enjoy.

The
2/6/2012 08:55:01 am

Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I am having trouble leaving comments on my blog and I definetly want to answer your question. The activites were done in the same week. I only had photos for acouple of days.

And yes Pintereest is the best:)

Reply
2/8/2012 03:18:46 am

What a fun activity! I'm assuming you mean that you mixed 1 cup flour with 1 cup water. I had never thought of baking cotton balls ... I love that so many ideas are on Pinterest, too! I featured your post at the Living Montessori Now Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/LivingMontessoriNow

Reply
2/8/2012 07:55:50 am

Deb, what did we ever do without Pinterest. Love your site, I've gotten some great ideas from the ideas posted there. Thanks for featuring our post.

Reply
2/28/2012 10:27:56 am

Don't you just love Pinterest! These are great! Thanks for leaving us a link so we can see how you played with the baked cotton balls!

Reply



Leave a Reply.