This month we have focused on bugs. I purchased a Butterfly home and a ladybug home from Amazon and the Easter Bunny was kind enough to leave them with the Easter Baskets. We watched our caterpillars grow, form their Chrysilis and then emerge as butterflies. We later let them go. I can not seem to find my camera which has many of the activities we did this month.  I did make a couple printable to play Swat! One is an ABC review game for my Little Man and one is a sight word game for the Princess. Both are available in the resources/ printables tab of my website.
There were so MANY bug activities we could have done a whole other month on bugs and insects. I have a ton of great pins on my Bug/ Insect Pinterest Board. Check it out here.

Update 6/11/12 The Camera has been found!! Yay!  SO here is a mish mash of pictures of some of our bug fun.  There were many other activities but since I misplaced my camera I didn't take pictures. Check out the pinterest boards because that is where most of the ideas came from that didn't get photo graphed here. (Like the Pringles Can with the Caterpillar in the back.
6/14/2012 10:56:31 am

Children love bugs and you're right that we could study them for a long time.
We've raised butterflies again this year and one of the new favourite activities that I found this year was feed the caterpillar can game from Alljoinin. You can see ours at http://strongstart.blogspot.ca/2012/06/play-trays-week-18-19.html
just scroll down to the last tray in the post.

Reply
6/14/2012 12:31:15 pm

What a great unit study ... and the SWAT game looks like so much fun! Thanks so much for linking up with Montessori Monday. I featured your post at the Living Montessori Now Facebook page and pinned it to my Insect Unit Study Pinterest board at http://pinterest.com/debchitwood/insect-unit-study/

Reply



Leave a Reply.