I knew something was missing from what I was doing at home with Jake.
He really misses going to school. Currently we do a one day CO-op preschool program at the Adult school. It is developmental in nature and I want something more academic. Several weeks ago while helping to organize a preschool co-op for our MOMS group I found an abundance of sites on the internet that talked about tot school.  My favorite was 1+1+1=1. At last I found what I was looking for.  Many of these sites have their own blogs so I thought... Why not? Here is our first week. We are focusing on the theme of pumpkins and the letter "P". Jake knows his shapes and colors and though he can recite numbers in order he is just beginning to actually count (1 to 1 correspondence). He is having difficulty holding crayons and pencils correctly as well so we will work on his fine motor skills and dexterity. As a fifth grade teacher I have seen too many times young boys who do not have the fine motor skills for writing at age 10.  Here are some photos from Monday.
10/30/2011 05:50:03 am

Found you on tot school! I love the idea of changing up the manipulatives on the do a dot pages! Makes it like a whole new activity! I'm glad you're enjoying Tot School...we just started a few weeks ago too and have been having a blast! :) Can't wait to see more from you!

Kalista
www.whenwereathome.blogspot.com

Reply
Beth
10/30/2011 06:40:07 am

P with Pennies - why didn't I think of that? Very fun. We too are big bingo marker fans at our house!
I would love for you to link this up at my TGIF Linky Party - http://livinglifeintentionally.blogspot.com/search/label/Linkey%20Parties
~Beth

Reply
Jenny
10/30/2011 11:02:26 am

Just popping over from Tot School.

I love all the different ways you used the P worksheet. So creative!

Reply
10/30/2011 01:37:05 pm

Aw, your little boy is adoreable and it looks like you had a fun time with totschool activities=)

Reply
11/1/2011 12:09:31 am

I'm glad you found Tot School too! My kids love it, and I love that it's something that I can easily schedule around my busy MOMS Club days. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.