So this week The Princess is on Spring Break, my Little Man and Husband are sick with colds and I am feeling quite lazy. We have done a few activities here and there (mostly with The Princess) but I have not had camera in hand. Today I took the Princess with me to my MOMS Club monthly meeting for an egg hunt but it was kind of soggy since it rained last night and has been sprinkling on and off all morning here.

My church is putting together a community outreach project, a Mentoring Moms group where the kids can get together and play on the BRAND NEW tot yard and the moms can get together to offer support to each other. I have a feeling that this is group is about to be my next project. My term as Vice President of my MOMS Club is coming to an end and I feel ready to branch out now that my kids are getting older. We did enjoy the Preschool group I got started but it never really turned into the Co-op I had hoped for. That too is coming to an end for the year.  So now I am thinking what next.  I really like this Moms group that is getting started at the church so I will put some energy into getting that going.

My husband and I have been deciding what to do with the Princess for Kindergarten next year. We looked at our home school, which is the second best school in our district, we entered the lottery for the fundamental school  (the first best school in our district) and we went to the Kindergarten orientation at the private school where she is this year. She will be entering Kindergarten but she already reads at a late 1st grade level and has mastered the math standards for Kinder and is now working on more advanced math skills. I don't push her mind you, she is just interested and is like a sponge when it comes to all things academic. I found a hybrid program at a school about 19 miles from our home and I think that this is our best option for her with her social issues and academic success this year in Jr. Kindergarten.  I've been praying about the decision as well as the option of homeschooling for several months now. I have a great group of prayer sisters that have been praying as well. I feel that if God pu the desire in my heart to homeschool than maybe that is His plan for us. I was a public school teacher for ten years and as such I am not a huge proponent of homeschooling although I know there are benefits to it. After much prayer and research and consideration I applied for the interdistrict transfer from my home district to the district that houses this hybrid program. My mom really thinks that I should not homeschool her so I'm sure there will be some tension there but this program will allow her to have classroom instruction one day a week with multi age kids (K-3rd) which I think will be excellent for her since she will not necessarily be the brightest or most knowledgable in the group all the time. She will also still have some traditional classroom experiences while being able to grow as a learner at home studying things that are interesting to her.

I also just signed up for the Great Homeschool Convention which is coming to my area in May. Although the program I hope to enroll my Princess in offers curriculum at no cost to us, I am not sure that it will be the right curriculum for us so I am going to go take a peek at what is out there. So stay tuned to our schooling adventure. The next step after we get confirmation that our transfer application has been approved will be to get my husband to add a sun room onto our house so we will have a space to homeschool. Otherwise my living room (my favorite room of the house) will have to get a makeover :(

If you know of any great blogs of parents who homeschool their



Leave a Reply.